This special album is a collection of Martyn's more political and social work, re worked and with the addition of a new song 'Luxury of Despair', inspired by his trip to refugee camps in Palestine last year. There are also two covers..Woody Guthrie's 'Deportees' and Bruce Cockburn's 'Democracy'.

Always trying to raise the issues and question injustice, Martyn describes the songs on the album as 'some of the snap shots of hope and despair that my guitar took pictures of as we journeyed'.

In 2014, Martyn has formed Let Yourself Trust which is a non-profit organisation that aims to provide funding for and inform on a wide variety of projects and justice movements both in the UK and abroad. The BBCs Bob Harris is patron of the Trust.

All proceeds from the album will go to LYT.

"It seemed a good idea to gather some of these songs together and re record them to help raise awareness and funds for the Trust" says Martyn. 'I'm very enthused and excited about the Trust and the good its going to bring about, but Im also pleased with this record. For me its always been about telling the story with passion and honesty and it's good to be able to give some of this material a fresh start. These songs still have work to do'.

Track list
Let Yourself
Luxury Of Despair
The Good In Me Is Dead
Half Of A Man
Twelve Years Old
Broken Peace (Tonypandy 2010)
Till The End
Call It Democracy
Five Sisters
Kiss The World Beautiful

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

Martyn Joseph - Kiss The World Beautiful - Songs for the Let Yourself Trust (2014) - OUT OF STOCK

  • Brand: Pipe Records
  • Product Code: LYT CD
  • Availability: In Stock
  • £12.00

  • Ex Tax: £12.00